Books, Recommendations

My Recommended Craft Idea Books – Part II – Children’s Edition

Hello, my wonderful crafting friends! This is part two of my recommended craft idea books. This part focuses on children arts and craft books. I used to be a former teacher and these are some of the arts and craft books I have used in the art center of my classroom. I remember my former students having a blast using the ideas I pulled out of these books. I hope you can use these arts and craft ideas in your classroom or with you children at home. Enjoy! Stay creative! 🙂

Arts & Crafts Busy Book: 395 Activities by Trish Kuffner (Editor: Bruce Lansky)

This book is filled with tons of simple and entertaining arts and crafts for children of all ages. This book contains holiday projects and activities, recipes for making play dough and clay using everyday household ingredients.  The best thing I loved about this book is that it gave my former students a chance to show off their creativity and expressive themselves. I also noticed that these projects and crafts helped with their focus and helped them build their fine motor skills. I really suggest you check this book out. This book can be found on Amazon. The book can also be downloaded onto the Kindle.

Star Wars Origami: 36 Amazing Paperfolding Projects from a Galaxy Far, Far Away… by Chris Alexander (Foreward: Tom Angelberger)

This books was a blast when I was substitute teacher for a 9th grade history class. I remember the teacher not leaving a lesson plan so I had to improvise. I pulled this book out of my emergency substitute teacher bag and handed out some paper. I projected the book onto the SmartBoard and had the students follow along. The students had blast! In the book you can create some of the famous characters in the Start Wars movies –R2-D2, Yoda, Boba Fett, and Princess Leia. I bought this book on Amazon.

The Toddler’s Busy Book: 365 Creative Games and Activities to Keep Your 1/2- to 3-Year-Old Busy by Trish Kuffner

This book is by the same author of the first book I mentioned. This book is gear towards babies and toddlers. I used this book when I taught preschool children. This book contains a bunch of arts and crafts that keep boredom away while teaching children mathematics, motor-skills, and language development.  This book can be bought on Amazon and cheaper on eBay.

Draw 50 Animals: The Step-by-Step Way to Draw Elephants, Tigers, Dogs, Fish, Birds, and Many More… by Lee J. Ames

I found 4 copies of this book at a book sale at my local library. I thought it was a good investment to purchase all 4 copies. Turns out I was right. I had included these 4 books in my substitute teacher bad and was able to use them when I had to fill in for a teacher for an entire week, there was always extra time at the end of each class period. I was able to distribute the books to groups of students who wanted draw. It was a big hit! I suggest you purchase a copy of this book. This book can be bought on Amazon. The book is also available on the Kindle.

 

Leave a Reply

