Books, Recommendations, Uncategorized

My Recommended Craft Idea Books

Hello, my crafty friends! Sometimes thinking of some creative crafty ideas can be a challenge (even after browsing thousands of Pintrest pictures). When I get “crafters block” I usually get ideas from crafting related books. I have a decent collection of crafting books that I have procured from thrift stores and garage sales over the years. I would like to share my top 5 favorite crafting idea books. I hope these books will spark some creativity within you! Happy Crafting! Enjoy! ūüôā

Stitch ‘N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker¬†by Debbie Stoller

I found this book on a shelf at a thrift store. My first thought was “what a creative and funny title.” The author, Debbie Stoller, writes about a variety of topics related to knitting and crochets while pairing it wish lovely instructional illustrations and color photography. This book can be used by novice knitters and crocheters to the experienced. There is something for everyone in this book. You can find this book on Amazon. This book is also available on Amazon Kindle.

Art Before Breakfast: A Zillion Ways to be More Creative No Matter How Busy you Are by Gregory Danny

I bought this book off of Amazon last year and I absolutely love it! Last year, I got super busy with life that I had put my love crafting on the back burner for about 5 months. This book made me realize that no matter how busy you get, there is always small ways to be creative. Being creative doesn’t have to involve something huge. The author, Danny, writes about how creating small projects, through visual creativity (or quick art), can be part of a healthy life. I bought this book on Amazon. This book is also available on Amazon Kindle.

Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest & Coloring Book by Johanna Basford

I know this isn’t really a craft idea book. But just hear me out…ok? This is one of my favorite adult coloring books of all time. I color in it when I am stressed, can’t sleep, and when I have “crafters block.” It seems like when I have a “block” I gravitate to my coloring book which gives me inspiration. By the time I color half of the coloring page, I have a list of craft ideas in my head. So, why not try this adult coloring book out…it helps me, it might help you as well! I bought this book from Michaels Craft Store. However, I believe it is a little bit cheaper if you buy it off of Amazon. Also, I use Prisma Premier Colored Pencils to color in my book.

The Complete Photo Guide to Cardmaking: More than 800 Large Color Photos by Judi Wantanabe

I absolutely love this book! It is such a great book to get ideas on card making using photographs. I think using photographs when card making makes cards more personal and the heart. This book provide beautiful illustrations, materials needed, and step-by-step instructions on how to put the card together.  You can get this book off Amazon. This book is also available on Amazon Kindle.

Sewing (5th Edition): Sewing For Beginners РQuick & Easy Way To Learn How To Sew With 50 Patterns for Beginners! by Kitty Moore

I consider myself a novice/beginner when it comes to sewing. Last year I learned how to use a basic sewing machine. This book was perfect for me and I was able to complete 2-3 of the sew projects in the book. The author, Moore, will teach you the basics to sewing. Along with the basics, it comes with easy-to-understand sew instructions. I bought this book on Amazon. This book is also available on Amazon Kindle.

Leave a Reply

